Pacific Islands Forum Trade Ministers Meeting
11 May 2012 (Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands)

Among several trade-related issues, the meeting considered an update of the traditional knowledge and intellectual property work, including the establishment of the Regional Trademarks Application System. Ministers agreed that Phase Two of the Traditional Knowledge Action Plan would focus on assisting Pacific Islands Forum member countries to draft TK policy and legislative frameworks, with a focus on the commercialization of TK and cultural industries. Member countries will be asked to request technical assistance for this process by the end of August 2012. The following member countries were represented at the meeting: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Republic of Marshall Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. New Caledonia attended as an Associate Member. Read the PIFS press release … Download the meeting’s outcome document [pdf] …